Day 28 – Looking Natural vs. BEING Natural

the-best-thing-is-look-naturalbut-it-takes-makeup-to-look-natural-beauty-quote

#BeTrueToYou 157-day no makeup challenge #Day28

I think the majority of women have been brainwashed into believing that we need makeup to enhance our natural beauty. Rather than simply “going natural”, we fake it by wearing less makeup so that we appear to be without it. In fact, we do not NEED makeup to be beautiful. Often times, by wearing too much makeup, combined with a lack of knowledge in proper uses of cosmetics, we may inadvertently “ruin” our natural beauty. After all you don’t want to come off looking like a clown.

mimi

For those of us who are not experts in cosmetics, we may have trouble finding the right makeup to suit our skin tone, skin type, and pigmentation. For example, common mistakes may include purchasing foundation that is too dark, wearing eye shadow that is too bright or loud, and putting on far too much eye liner and mascara so that you look like a raccoon. If you want to find out whether you are wearing too much makeup, read more here: (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/01/30/wearing-too-much-makeup_n_4686592.html)

I know I am guilty of committing at least one of the cardinal sins against the skin. But one of the positives in doing this 157-day no makeup challenge is that I don’t have to worry about these faux pas. I am not anti-makeup. In fact, after I complete this challenge, I fully intend to return to using makeup. I just believe in beauty without it, and wish to reaffirm this believe in a very real way. For those who still wear makeup on a daily, I urge you to be aware of all that you’re putting on your face. I think many experts would agree with me when I say, less is more!

Leave a Reply

