Day 34 – Would You Rather…?

Unknown-1

#BeTrueToYou 157-day no makeup challenge #Day34

I bet most of us have heard of the game “Would you rather…?”. The game is meant to be played with a group of people. You have to pose hard questions to each other, in which the person has to pick one of two options given.

For example, here are some tough would you rather questions with my answers:

1. “Would you rather live once for 1,000 years or live 10 different lives of 100 years each?”

10 lives because I would have a better chance of getting at least one of them right.

 

2. “Would you rather have one arm or one leg?”

How in the world do you decide this? I guess I would rather have one arm because I can’t imagine not being able to walk on two legs.

3. “Would you rather be feared or loved?”

Loved. Hands down.

4. “Would you rather end world hunger or have eternal world peace?”

World peace. I think it is impossible for humans to achieve this so it would take a miracle. Hunger on the other hand, I believe is something we as humans can take on. If we were to donate more of what we have, and not waste so much, others could be fed.

5. “Would you rather live the rest of your life in perfect health but with a huge debt or be perpetually ill and have a vast amount of wealth?”

Health is important. I would rather be perfectly healthy with bad credit than have a terminal illness. I hope most people would agree.

 

There are different levels of questions. Some people like to ask silly questions like, “would you rather be fat or be stupid for the rest of your life?” In some ways, it serves as a personality test and is a way to get to know someone else. However, it can also gauge how superficial we can be. I was surfing the web for “would you rather” questions and I was surprised at how many blogs and sites included examples of “would you rather” questions that dealt exclusively with makeup, hair, nails, and clothes. Here is a list of some of the questions people were posing to each other that involved makeup (I included my answers just for fun):

Image

1. Would you rather wear one eye shadow or one lipstick for the rest of your life?

I am not a big fan of wearing tons of eye shadow. I could do with out it. But I do like wearing lipstick and lipgloss. But if I never got to wear it again, I don’t think I’d lose sleep over it.

2. Would you rather go out with messy hair/nice make-up or nice hair/no make-up?

My hair is usually messy because in my mind I am still a student and constantly in a rush. Given that I am on #Day34 of a 157-day no makeup challenge, going without makeup is becoming increasingly easy and natural.

3. Would you rather live without makeup or nail polish?

This is like Sophie’s Choice. Smh. No makeup, no nail polish. They are both things I can live without. I CAN’T live without God, love, and my family.

4. Would you rather leave the house with an obvious foundation line or overdone blush?

What? I don’t even understand how someone comes up with this type of question. If I don’t know how to blend my makeup so I don’t have a foundation line, and I don’t know the right amount of blush to wear then maybe I am better off without either.

5. If you had $1000 to spend, would you rather buy clothes or makeup?

If I had $1000, I would probably pay some bills or try to fix up my car. I’ll be damned if I ever spend $1000 on makeup or clothes for that matter at one time.

 

In comparison, the questions about life and death make the makeup questions look trivial and superficial. Although I know for some, these makeup questions may be difficult for many women to answer because for many of us makeup is an addiction, and going without any of it seems impossible. Well, I am trying my best to break free of that notion. I do not need makeup to be beautiful. Hopefully, one day others will read this blog and believe it too. To each her own.

Leave a Reply

